DBXL versioning is turned on by default, as it is necessary for certain scenarios. For safety purposes the checkbox in DAT is also disabled, so that it is not accidentally deactivated. (For a PDF version of this blog post, click here.)
However, should you wish to turn off versioning (i.e. uncheck Enable History), follow these steps:
Export
1. Download and install the DBXL Migration Tool.
2. Launch the DBXL Migration Tool (UI).
3. Enter the DBXL Server Root and click Connect.
4. From the Configuration dropdown, select your document type.
5. Check the checkbox for Configuration under Items to Export.
6. Enter an Export Path.
7. Click Run.
Manually modify the mapping.xml file
8. Open the mapping.xml created by the DBXL Migration Tool in the Export path. You can use Notepad or a similar text editor.
9. Find <HistoryFlg>true</HistoryFlg>
10. Change this to <HistoryFlg>false</HistoryFlg>
11. Save and close mapping.xml.
Import
12. Back in the DBXL Migration Tool UI, switch to the Import tab.
13. Click Load next to Configuration.
14. Select the document type from the Configuration dropdown.
15. Under Items to import, check Configuration. Note: If you had a SQL Mapping configured, you’ll need to enter a value for Database server and Initial Catalog. These will match the Connection string in DAT.
16. Click Run.
When you go back into the DBXL Administration Tool, you’ll see that the checkbox for Enable History is unchecked!