need custom submit code sample/example - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

need custom submit code sample/example

Last post 09-04-2009 09:06 PM by princevis. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-05-2009 08:17 AM

need custom submit code sample/example

I'm new to InfoPath.  Can someone post some sample code for submit.  My immediate interest is in code to handle email submission.

Or is there a way to view the code associated with a normal submit button?  A normal submit button to an email address doesn't seem to generate any script code, or at least I couldn't find it in the Microsoft Script Editor.

I've written custom code (attached to the onclick event for a button on the form) to validate user input in various fields.  It's working fine.  But if I can move that code over into custom code for a submit button I won't need two buttons on the form.  If the code finds any problems it will alert the user and stop; otherwise it will continue on and submit the data.

Again, I need some examples of code that submits to email.

Thanks in advance for any help.

• 04-05-2009 08:39 AM In reply to

Re: need custom submit code sample/example

In JScript, you can invoke the main submit adapter with:

XDocument.Submit();

I believe in VBScript it would be the same without the parentheses and semicolon.

Jimmy Rishe / Software Developer / Microsoft MVP
    Qdabra Software
  • 04-06-2009 12:14 PM In reply to

Thanks for your reply.

XDocument.Submit presumes you've defined a data connection for submit , correct?

As a test I created a simple form with an email submit button, then defined the data connection.  (By the way, such data connections aren't viewable as a data source, per se, are they?)

I extracted the form files and looked in manifest.xsf, finding:

<xsf:submit caption="Su&amp;bmit" disableMenuItem="no" onAfterSubmit="keepOpen" showStatusDialog="yes">