Infopath | Multiple Selection List Box - link to list + rules on selection - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Infopath | Multiple Selection List Box - link to list + rules on selection

Last post 04-01-2022 08:22 AM by Hilary Stoupa. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-14-2022 02:13 AM

Infopath | Multiple Selection List Box - link to list + rules on selection

Hi everyone I have been working on a project and keep getting stumped with the outcome I want to achieve. I am fairly new to SharePoint/Infopath and hoping I can get pointed in the right direction, or confirmed what I am trying to achieve is not possible (hopefully the former). I know there are a few posts on here about multiple selection list boxes and through my digging I have found some great info which has definitely helped, but this is my problem... The idea I am trying to achieve is essentially very simple; I have an external list (located on SP) which contains 3 columns - COUNTRY, SURF BREAK and STATUS (see attached file), my form has one drop down selector box for the COUNTRY field and a multiple selection list box for the SURF BREAK field... connecting them and filtering the available SURF BREAK options by the COUNTRY drop down box is all good, I'm fine with that (thanks to help on this forum). My issue comes when I want to pull the STATUS field from the external list depending on the options chosen in the multiple selection list box. For e.g. if we look at the external list and focus on Australia; it has three breaks and one of them has a red status, other two are green.... if a user chooses Australia in the first drop down, and then selects two SURF BREAK options (one red and one green), I want a text field to show the STATUS field of the chosen SURF BREAK, but if any items with a red STATUS are selected then it should override any green status'. Hopefully that makes sense but let me know if you need clarificati