Filtering before data reaches infopath form - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Filtering before data reaches infopath form

Last post 03-17-2021 12:28 PM by TerryH. 17 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-05-2019 12:41 AM

Filtering before data reaches infopath form

Hi all, I was wondering if there is a way to filter data before it reaches the form as the size of data is causing the form to crash and has become unusable. We are searching by a unique field where it pulls in 10 fields worth of data to autofill the form. We are using Sharepoint Online and i've seen in various places the data connection can't be changed or made larger in size. Sorry if this isn't very descriptive, i'm very new to infopath!!
  • 03-05-2019 07:35 AM In reply to

Re: Filtering before data reaches infopath form

If you are searching on a unique field - is it an equivalence filter? Can you change the data connection to not run on load, then add form load rules, set the query field to the correct unique value and execute the query (or do that at the time the unique value is known, if not on form load?)
    Hilary Stoupa

• 03-05-2019 07:52 AM In reply to

Hi Hilary, it pulls the data once a Unique Id has been entered (a staff number) then it searches a master list and pulls the data from there. It doesn't pull up all data on form load.
  • 03-05-2019 08:10 AM In reply to

And you still have too much data? How many matches do you have on your unique id? You are using a query field in your list data connection?
    Hilary Stoupa

• 03-06-2019 12:54 AM In reply to

Well there is only 1 staff number per person but we can have up to 5,000 users details. Once the staff number has been entered, it pulls first name, last name, phone number, section, line manager and address as well.
  • 03-06-2019 07:48 AM In reply to