Insert command: Not adding rows - no error message. - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Insert command: Not adding rows - no error message.

Last post 08-14-2009 08:06 AM by Sam Camblin. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 08-13-2009 11:09 AM

Insert command: Not adding rows - no error message.

Hi,

I'm new to InfoPath and just installed qRules.  I'm trying to use the Insert command to add a new row to a table when a button is clicked.  I followed your instructions and example xsn file to create the below example.  When I click on the button it doesn't add a row or give an error message.  Thoughts? 

Button's action:   Set a field's value: Command = "Insert/parent = /my:myFields/my:Table/ child = /my:RepeatingInsert/count = 1"

My data source looks like this:

myFields

Table

RepeatingInsert

ID

Name

Description

DetailID

Filed under: ,
  • 08-13-2009 11:25 AM In reply to

Re: Insert command: Not adding rows - no error message.

Hi -- your command looks like it might have some spacing issues.

Insert /parent =/my:myFields/my:Table /child =/my:RepeatingInsert /count = 1

There should be a '/' before each of the arguments like parent, child and count.

Hilary Stoupa

• 08-13-2009 12:34 PM In reply to

Hi Hilary,

Thanks for your quick response.  I pasted what you provided and verified the formula and it says: "Insert/parent" does not point to a valid location path of a field or group. 

I tried the Copy XPath to make sure I got it right, but I'm still getting the same message.  Below is what I'm using with the copy XPath and the spacing you suggested.  Thoughts?

Insert /parent=/my:myFields/my:Recommendations /child=/my:myFields/my:Recommendations/my:Table /count=1

• 08-13-2009 12:52 PM In reply to

Don't click the fx button to open the formula editor, simply paste into the Value text box.

Hilary Stoupa

• 08-14-2009 05:55 AM In reply to

Hi Hilary,