Using web services to establish Sharepoint list connections - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Using web services to establish Sharepoint list connections

Last post 10-14-2008 10:35 PM by dbaldacchino. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-02-2008 08:40 PM

Using web services to establish Sharepoint list connections

After lots of research and direction from these forums, it seems that the best solution to query data in Sharepoint lists is to use a web service. I'm quite new to all this and I'm after a querying solution without coding if at all possible. If that's not realistic, please let me know as it would save me from going in circles, and I'm already getting quite dizzy :)

I simply need to query a large SP list based on a number of fields in drop-down list boxes that users will be selecting from, just like one would do in a form tied to Access as the data source. That's not my problem and I know how to do that and filter the data, etc. The difficulty is with querying based on those fields. If you establish a data connection to a SP list, you get the whole enchilada. That's not what I want obviously and after further reading, I found pieces of information that led me to believe that using the "lists" web service would do the trick. See the following site:

http://www.developer.com/tech/article.php/3104621