Saving to XML offline on a mobile device - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Saving to XML offline on a mobile device

Last post 06-26-2008 07:40 PM by barmatt80. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-23-2008 07:10 AM

Saving to XML offline on a mobile device

Hello,

I'm quite new to Infopath technology so please bear with me on this one. I've have spent last couple of days trying to figure out if IP is something my company could use for the following scenario:

Our mobile device users (or field agents if you like) need to be able to collect data using Infopath forms and save them locally (on the device, preferable in XML format). The problem is Infopath does not support saving of forms in mobile browser mode. Users can save filled-out forms when using proper Infopath software, but you can't get any for mobile devices (There's a piece of software by Formotus, but I'm not sure if we'll be able to use it).

So, to sum it all up, is there any way to save an Infopath form, filled-out on a mobile device (say PDA) in XML format for later processing?

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Many thanks,

Kirill

p.s.

I should also mention that our users will have to complete numerous forms (10-20 a day), so submitting each one in turn isn't feasable. If it could be possible to save filled-out forms in xml format to a local folder on the mobile device - that would be perfect. 

• 06-23-2008 10:54 PM In reply to

Re: Saving to XML offline on a mobile device

Off-line is always tough.

I would recommend a cellular modem and keep them online with web forms if possible.

Try www.geoage.com

They do not have InfoPath for mobile but do have an XML form app that allows you to do as you request called FAST.

• 06-24-2008 01:35 AM In reply to