Confused - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Confused

Last post 05-16-2008 03:45 PM by Tripytaka. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-14-2008 10:00 PM

Confused

I am new to InfoPath and have become a bit confused as to how best implement my idea.

I require users to complete forms using outlook or a web browser then to generate reports complete with charts and graphs from the data gathered. I have a website, which I wrote using Visual Web Developer (visual basic), that I want to use as part of this solution.

I used InfoPath to create a form, and can fill it out in outlook and send the data to myself as an xml file.  Now I need to implement the next step - create reports complete with charts, graphs, and text from the captured data.

My question is... what supporting software to I need to complete this task? I currently have SQL Server 2008 Express and Visual Web Developer 2008 Express, and InfoPath 2007.

Is InfoPath the correct solution, or should I create the form in Visual Web Developer?
    Will Excel 2007 satisfy my requirements for reporting or do I need SQL Server or SharePoint Server.
    If I use SharePoint Server, do I have to install Windows Server 2008 to run it on?
    If I use SQL server, do I need SharePoint Server?

I have read blogs, forums, and websites and have not been able to answer these questions. I just seem to get more confused. 

All I want to do is, use electronic forms to capture data from a wide variety of users either via a web browser or outlook, store the data in an easily retrievable format and generate reports complete with charts, graphs, and text.

I greatly appreciate all help.

• 05-16-2008 07:44 AM In reply to

I do this frequently.

The typical architecture is to use SQL as the data repository and web services as the mechanism for interaction.  Thisworks very well with InfoPath's support ofr web services.