Question regarding Email submit button - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Question regarding Email submit button

Last post 02-05-2008 09:09 PM by Clay Fox. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-04-2008 05:12 PM

Question regarding Email submit button

Hey, first post here.

I'm really new to this Infopath stuff so i encounter many problems that i try to fix my self as much as i can. Tho i can't find a solution for this one:

When you add an email Submit button, is there a way to not use outlook to send the form's data to an email adress? Like only press submit and the data of the form would be sent directly without having to pass trough outlook. Because most of my clients won't have outlook anyway.

Thanks, Ulysse

• 02-04-2008 07:59 PM In reply to

Re: Question regarding Email submit button

Hey there!

Welcome to the forum.

InfoPath was built with a very tight integration with Outlook, since it is bundled with it. In fact you even have to use Outlook 2007 with InfoPath 2007.

You can either use code, but this requires full trust for your form, or a server based solution.

With the Database Accelerator you can have the server send the emails rather than the clients. Qdabra Database Accelerator Suite Version 2.1 - Developer

Will the users have InfoPath or are you going to use browser based forms?

• 02-04-2008 08:08 PM In reply to

Hi Ulysse and welcome to the forums!

Unfortunately, there is no easy answer to this.  You could try making a command-line utility in C# that takes the data as parameters and then sends the e-mail.  However, this would require your form to be Full Trust.

A better way to do it would be to create (or maybe find) a web service that will accept the data to form an e-mail, and then constructs and sends it.  Then, you can add a data connection to this web service and then call it from the form.