Web Service method return parameter - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Web Service method return parameter

Last post 09-16-2005 01:04 PM by Patrick Halstead. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-12-2005 02:49 PM

Web Service method return parameter

Hello everyone,

I am very new to programming infopath and to xml. Is there a good reference book that shows good examples of how to work with Web
    Services? Or a good book on XML or tutorial about XPath and stuff like that? It seems that in order to integrate Infopath with WebServices and Sharepoint, I need to know those along with XML and XPath and Serializtion/Deserialization, etc. So much stuff.

Anyhow, now to my question. This is very basic. All I want to do is get the value of a textbox and then after tabbing off of the control to call a web method that checks if customer exists, and if so return an integer=1 else return 0.

I have created the Web Method that takes an input string parameter and returns an integer parameter. I also have a textbox called txtQuery where the RULE is 'Set Condition = txtCust is not blank' and where the Action is 'Query using a data connection to a Web Service'.
    I have another textbox called txtSubmit which is the same as above, but the Action is 'Submit using a data connection to a Web Service'.
    Both textboxes call the same web method.
    Then I have another textbox called txtReturn which which has a datatype of Integer, and for the Default Value a formula from an 'Insert Field or Group' where the Data Source is the same Web Method the other 2 txtboxes called.