text box only shows first row of result set from sql query - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

text box only shows first row of result set from sql query

Last post 08-03-2021 03:58 PM by lou d. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-28-2021 01:49 PM

• lou d
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 07-27-2021
    • Posts 29

text box only shows first row of result set from sql query

Hello, I am totally new to Infopath. I am using it to retrieve data from sql server. My result set for one field consists of more than one row, but the text box i display the results in is only showing the first row. Is it possible to get the additional records to show in the box? The maximum number or records would be less than 10 rows. Thanks! Lou
    Filed under:
  • 07-28-2021 05:04 PM In reply to

Re: text box only shows first row of result set from sql query

I would just use a repeating section for this - is there a reason all the data needs to be in the same text box? I mean, you could use double eval for this - see attached sample. Right click the link in the heading, save the file locally. Right click the saved file, and select design to open in design mode, then you can preview.
    Hilary Stoupa

• 07-28-2021 08:04 PM In reply to

• lou d
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 07-27-2021
    • Posts 29

Thanks for the info. This form is running a sql query and returning the result set to the form. I do not need to enter rows onto the form; i just need to display the sql results. There are a few fields that have more than one record and it would be easiest (if possible) to display the multiple rows (never more than 8) in a text box. Do I add the repeating section just to host this text box? I will research repeating section and double eval, as I don't know what they are. Do I need to use both features to display the multiple rows?
  • 07-29-2021 08:06 AM In reply to