New InfoPath form to publish to SharePoint - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

New InfoPath form to publish to SharePoint

Last post 02-07-2020 08:15 AM by Hilary Stoupa. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-05-2020 02:37 AM

New InfoPath form to publish to SharePoint

I have a InfoPath form that is published to a document library.  Not a content type.  I know that If I publish a updated version of the form, it will break the existing forms. How can I keep all my existing forms and publish the new form without breaking the old ones?  Kind of a newbie here so be gentle.  I am on SharePoint 2013 on prem, using InfoPath 2013.

• 02-06-2020 07:38 AM In reply to

Re: New InfoPath form to publish to SharePoint

Well, whether the update will break existing XML depends on if you made certain changes to the schema. If you are not sure your changes will break existing files there are ways to test that - let me know & I can get you steps. Otherwise, you would need to switch your library to use content types. You could take the original (currently published form), publish it as a content type, and change the library to use content types. Then you can relink all the existing forms (this is pretty easy, there is a relink view in the library). Then, once that is done, you publish your updated form as a content type, and set that to be the default content type in the library. I can help you with more steps on this approach as well. :)
    Hilary Stoupa

• 02-06-2020 11:31 PM In reply to

Hilary, I did make several changes to both rules and fields to include the addition to one in SharePoint.  If there is a way to test to see if it will break, that would be great.  And if so, I would really like to know how to use the new form without breaking the old one using the content type method.  Thanks again for your help.

v/r

Sean

• 02-07-2020 08:15 AM In reply to