Hi Bre!
If I design a button to submit the current data on the form to the server, but I do not place a rule that exits the form after, I get the notorious message: "your changes conflict with those made concurrently by another user" if I go to save again. I understand why it works this way, however, I most always use two buttons on my forms (Save and Exit, and Exit). The end result I'm trying to get is kicking off workflows without the user having to get out of the form after. When they are ready to exit the form if they choose Save & Exit they'll get the error, if they choose Exit , they won't. It's a crap shoot!!
Hopefully I've explained it a little better :)
I never display the ribbons in my forms due to the fact that I usually have a few rules behind the custom save button..