now() function question - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

now() function question

Last post 05-31-2019 12:33 PM by Travis_H. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-30-2011 03:57 PM

now() function question

When I have a now( ) function enabled, it seems to display like this:

2011-09-30T11:40:37

What's the "T" for in the middle and how can I get rid of it?

Probably a simple question, but I'm just learning this stuff...just started using InfoPath 2010 day before yesterday.

Thanks!
    Dan

• 09-30-2011 04:09 PM In reply to

Re: now() function question

I kind of answered my own question - I opted to display both the date and the time in separate fields.  But if anyone still has any insight, I would still love to hear from you.

Thanks again.
    Dan

• 09-30-2011 04:13 PM In reply to

The "T" stands for Time, of course (but you knew that) - this is just the date format used by InfoPath - no matter how you display your date / time, if you look at the XML in a text editor, you'll see the data structure is in this format. You can change the way the data is displayed in your form by formatting your control (for example, text box or expression box control) under the control's properties - you can choose how to display the date and time.

Here's some fun reading if you'd like more info on the XML spec for Date Time (the term "fun" is being used extremely flippantly here).

Hilary Stoupa

• 09-30-2011 06:50 PM In reply to

If you want to change the format of the date you can do so with some other functions.

concat

substring

number

Here is a formula I used to show the date in the format I was looking for -- 9/30/2011.

concat(number(substring(now(), 6, 2)), "/", number(substring(now(), 9, 2)), "/", number(substring(now(), 1, 4)))

Broken down

concat - will display any number of fields or text together separated by a comma ','