save vs submit? - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

save vs submit?

Last post 09-23-2012 12:42 AM by Gennady Vanin (Геннадий Ванин, Новосибирск). 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-14-2011 06:22 AM

save vs submit?

I'm using IP forms in a SharePoint library.  I'm still new to both IP and SP.

From within the form, I use the 'submit' button to update the form data in the library.

On the SharePoint library, there is a 'save' command on the ribbon.

From within IP, I can configure the form (optionally, through the Form Options/Web Browser commands) to display either the submit or save options on the SharePoint ribbon (or neither).  But I can never get a 'submit' option to show up on the IP ribbon.

How do all these things relate?  Is a submit within an IP form the same as a 'save' on the SP library ribbon?  Is there really such a thing as a SP submit?  Do I even need a submit button on the form or can folks simply use the 'save' from the SP ribbon?

thanks so much for the help!

• 07-17-2011 10:50 PM In reply to

Hi - yes there is a SharePoint submit functionality in InfoPath. Are you using InfoPath 2007 or 2010? The latter has a checkbox at the end of the data connection wizard for submit data connections - you'd like to check that if you'd want to set your SharePoint submit as the default submit data connection. You can also go to File > Submit Options (or Data > Submit Options)  and set it up there, either via a single destination (email, web service, SharePoint, etc.), through rules or code.

Basically, what you'd want is to enable "Allow users to submit this form" - this will show a Submit button in both the client and browser ribbons. If you have this, then you won't need to create an extra submit button.