I thought I was getting a better understanding of this but.......
In config it says "If CheckUserPermissions is false, the group aliases below are used as defaults for new document templates if no permissions are specified....."
My reading of that is that the "group aliases below" are not used unless the CheckUserPermissions is false.
In mine the CheckUserPermissions is true - so they should not be used
BUT you say I should set CheckUserPermissions to false to switch them off...
I AM CONFUSED
What does the <permissions> group do. What does the Enforce Permissions box do - when does it come into play
The area of permissions and how DBXL works has never been clear to me. There are several areas where permissions stuff is done - I have no comprehension of how those areas fit together - what changes to make where to achieve desired "lock down/open up". Would it be possible to put more scenarios into the documentation to try and make it clearer ?
I have some document types where it is critical I control who sees them. And some document types where it doesn't really matter.
I have a group "domain\everyone". Where should I give access to everyone in the domain ? Is it enough to un check the Enforce Permissions box ? Or do I need to put a group in document type level permissions ?
Thank you for your help.
Catharine