Auto generate number - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Auto generate number

Last post 08-30-2011 10:43 AM by RoccoNH. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-19-2005 01:02 PM

Auto generate number

Hi All,

I'm new to InfoPath and I have a really simple question here: how to auto generate number for one field?

For example, a "Change Request" form has a field "Title". The field "Change Request #" should be a combination of

"CR" + "Current Date" + "The sequence of the file" + "Title".

I can figure out the other three but just "the sequence of the file" part is quite challenging to me. I'm wondering maybe you can help me?

Thanks in advance!

rachel

• 09-19-2005 10:48 PM In reply to

Hi Rachel,
    This depends on where you are storing the file. If you are submitting to SharePoint, you can look up the ID from the SharePoint list and there are several threads discussing how to do that. If you are submitting to a database, you'll need to return the new row ID for the submitted form. If you are just saving to a filesystem, you'll unfortunately need to generate your own unique identifier. There are various ways to do this. Search for "GUID" in the forum or on the website. Hope this helps!

Patrick Halstead [InfoPath MVP]
    InfoPathDev
    Patrick Halstead
    Project Manager at Qdabra
  • 02-06-2009 04:11 AM In reply to

Hi  Patrick,