Setting off workflows - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Setting off workflows

Last post 06-09-2010 01:04 AM by chris leate. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-08-2010 08:56 AM

    Setting off workflows

     I have a number of sharepoint based infopath libraries, I often have to make changes to workflow or document. When I relink the documents to the new schema the workflow fires. I've tried disabling the workflow start options under sharepoint designer, but some documents remain linked to old workflow and cause the library to fire out a million emails.

    Does anyone know of any good articles on sharepoint library / workflow versioning?

     

  • 06-08-2010 09:32 AM In reply to

    You can also enable/disable SharePoint Designer workflows from central admin site (you must be a member of the farm admin ShP group to perform this).

    1. From Central Administration, click the Application  Management > Workflow Management  > Workflow Settings.

    2. On the Workflow Settings page, in the User-Defined Workflows section, select No to disable ShP workflows for that site.

    Hope that works for you!

     


    Aruna Akella
    Qdabra® Software / InfoPathDev.com
    The InfoPath Experts – Streamline data gathering to turn process into knowledge.™
  • 06-08-2010 09:54 AM In reply to

    Thanks Aruna, that was most helpfull, I wonder if there's a way to do this with individual workflows though. I will keep on looking as I don't want to take down all workflows while I perform updates.

     While I'm here, in a similar vein, does anyone know the best way of termporarily preventing people from submitting to a library while I make changes? I've been removing everyone's access to the gallery manually but this has been unsuccessful.

     Thanks again Aruna though, this was most helpfull

  • 06-08-2010 10:25 PM In reply to

    To disable individual workflow, have you tried it from SharePoint Designer? - maybe uncheck the other two checkboxes and just select 'Allow this workflow to be manually started for an item' or disable it from SharePoint site?

    I haven't tried those, but I believe one of those should work.

    Aruna Akella
    Qdabra® Software / InfoPathDev.com
    The InfoPath Experts – Streamline data gathering to turn process into knowledge.™
  • 06-09-2010 01:04 AM In reply to

    Hi Aruna,
    That's what I was doing before but sharepoint retains a list of previous workflows and the previous workflow gets set off for all documents before the relinking.

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Copyright © 2003-2019 Qdabra Software. All rights reserved.
View our Terms of Use.