transforming data 2-ways - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

transforming data 2-ways

Last post 03-09-2005 12:40 AM by Patrick Halstead. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-24-2005 09:46 AM

transforming data 2-ways

hiya,

I'm a bit new to InfoPath, and I'm sure what I need can be done somehow, but I can't find much reference to it, except in quite vague terms. Thanks in advance for your patience with my dazzling newbie question

I've got a project that is collecting XML with information about people living together and what income they receive. There is currently a paper version of the data-collection form, which we are hoping to convert to InfoPath.

On the form, it displays the details of the head of the household, then asks for a list of other people in the house, and then another section to list all the different incomes of the people in the house (one person can have more than one income, or none).

So far so good

However, my problem is that the (non-negotiable) XML schema doesn't look like that. It stores each individual person as equal "person" nodes, under one "persons" node. The only difference between them is a "type" tag, so my first question is:

can I have a single section of the form which maps directly onto a particular instance of a repeating node, when the specific node is accessible by a XPath query like //person[persontype='head']

the other main problem is that the income section is not stored together, but as an "income" node beneath each individual "person" node (inside an "incomes" node - each person can have lots of incomes, in theory anyway)

so, my second question is:

can i have a set of repeating form elements, which will include drop-down to select the relevant person, which when saved, will be split up into the appropriate sub-nodes as indicated in the person drop-down

in other words, my data will look like this: