Trouble with drop downs and auto-populating - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Trouble with drop downs and auto-populating

Last post 01-13-2005 06:27 AM by ptgrayson. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-07-2004 02:05 PM

Trouble with drop downs and auto-populating

Hello,
    I am a police officer with the city of Winter Haven Florida and have been creating our new report writing system with infopath. The project is approximately 90% complete but I am having trouble with some of the advanced features. (or at least advanced for me.

I don't know what level of assistance I may get but I was hoping that someone may have had the same propblem I'm having and beat it. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

To set the stage the report consists of a main section which is in all reports. Then has multiple optional sections with a repeating section inside of them so the officers can ad as many people, suspects, property, etc as they need to.

The form is done and works great. However there are a few things that I would realy like to see.

1. The first problem is I have a repeating table so the officers can list the types of offenses. I have one cell which I have changed to a drop down. it is linked to an access data base which I wrote for the Florida State laws. I wanted a another cell to be automaticly filled with the statute number that matches the offense I have selected. I got it set up and it works following your examples, However it only works for the first selection. When I add a second row sometimes it works correctly sometimes it doesn't. But needless to say once I add the second row any others show the same statute number in the auto-populated cell. This is what steps I took.

1. Create the repeating table.
    2. Change one of the fields to a drop down.
    3. Link that drop down to the database.
    4. set a rule to fill the statute number field.