Change of View based upon combo box selection - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Change of View based upon combo box selection

Last post 05-25-2009 01:07 AM by Samir Farid. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-01-2009 12:20 AM

• cscottm
    • Not Ranked
      Male
    • Joined on 05-01-2009
    • Wa State
    • Posts 2

Change of View based upon combo box selection

Hello Everyone,

I am new to designing in Infopath, so I am not exactly sure what this feature would be called or how to produce a form that does the following.

If someone lets say selects Option 1 (on a combo box), one part of the form will show text boxes, etc based upon the combo box selection.

However if someone selects Option 2 (on the same combo box),  totally different text boxes shows up in the same area.

So another words,  Selection 1 shows shows View 1, & Selection 2 shows View 2, but all in the same area.

How would I accomplish this?  Is there a sample form that does something like this, I could look at ?

Thanks

Chris
  • 05-01-2009 12:27 AM In reply to

Re: Change of View based upon combo box selection

Hi CScottM and a hearty welcome!

Create one big section in your form underneath the optional combo box.

In this big section, add two sections - one will contain the special stuff for option 1 and the other for option 2. Double click on the section and choose the Display tab. Click Conditional Formatting. Add a condition that says Combo Box field (whatever this is in your data source) not equal to Option 1 and then check Hide this control. Do the same thing for the other section but use Option 2 for that. Preview your form.

Have fun!

Patrick Halstead
    Project Manager at Qdabra
  • 05-01-2009 08:55 PM In reply to

• cscottm
    • Not Ranked
      Male
    • Joined on 05-01-2009
    • Wa State
    • Posts 2

Hi Patrick,