Populate a Rich TextBox from Filtered data - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Populate a Rich TextBox from Filtered data

Last post 02-20-2009 08:11 PM by doctorcpu. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-19-2009 05:07 PM

Populate a Rich TextBox from Filtered data

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and have searhed for help although I may not be using the correct key words to get help.  I have a SQL view on my SQL 2005 server in which I've setup as a secondary connection to my form.  On the form I have a Rich textBox in which I would like all data from the Items field displayed one line each.  I don't know if this is possible.  My idea was to populate the textbox so that items can be added or removed as part of the final process and I don't think this can be done for a listbox.  Any help with this or any ideas of a better way of doing this is appreciated.  Alos, I'm a VB programmer but InfoPath is somewhat confusing from a programming stand point, so can you recommend the best resorce for programming using VB in InfoPath?

Thanks

• 02-19-2009 08:48 PM In reply to

Re: Populate a Rich TextBox from Filtered data

It sounds like what you want to do might be better suited for a repeating table or repeating section, rather than a rich text box.  These controls can easily have rows removed from them more cleanly than a text control can.

Programming in InfoPath can be confusing at first, but it is really little more than XML manipulation, so if you are good at that, InfoPath should not be too hard to get into.

I have a post on this forum that involves copying data from a secondary (SQL) data source to the main data source in C# and JScript
    http://www.infopathdev.com/forums/p/9471/33560.aspx#33560

If you know enough about either of those languages to figure out how to do the same stuff in VB it might help get you started.  If not, I'd be happy to show you an example in VB.