Strategies for database management . . . one for the MVPs - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

Strategies for database management . . . one for the MVPs

Last post 02-28-2009 10:32 PM by Donna Kelly. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-14-2009 04:44 PM

Strategies for database management . . . one for the MVPs

Dear All,

I am an absolute beginner with Infopath, and I'm seeking advice on sound strategies and the best practices for working with databases. 

My database has triggers to manage audit fields (e.g. created by, created on), and PK/FK referential integrity in place.  I'm seeking to utilise Infopath to the max, but I don't know when I should code and when there's a way of better doing things in Infopath without programming.  I'm comfortable using system.xml.xpath, but I would like to minimize programming for ease of maintenance.  BTW, I use VB as it's easier for others to maintain.  

I guess I don't really understand the Infopath engine deeply enough.  I especially don't understand its internals and architecture i.e. what bits of the XML schema(s) get automatically populated by Infopath, and when. 

Let me throw in an additional wrinkle.  I'm working on a real development problem, right now, and Version 1 of the solution needs to be a bare-bones Infopath/SQL Server solution, with a full-fat client.  The database is built, and all triggers have been programmed and tested (so things like internal audit fields, date/time constructs all work, so on and so forth.  There are a lot of INSTEAD OF triggers.)  I will then build version 2, with Enterprise MOSS 2007 with Forms Services, and I'll be writing full-featured ASP.NET Web Services for data access.  

One thing I would appreciate your comments on, is what kinds of functionailty are best served at what layer in this stack.