I would test this by starting from a copy of the contribute permission level. Scroll to bottom of Contribute permission level and click Copy permission Level, and give it a good name.
Of the 12 List permissions, 9 are checked.
It is highly likely you can clear the checkboxes for:Create AlertsDelete VersionsView VersionsDelete ...