Actually...it recognizes me as a Reader no matter if I explicitly set my name as a User name, or if I use a User Group to which I belong...
I have Reader as default...with conditional formatting on the Submit btn to disable the control if User Role <> 'Contributor'...regardless, I end up as a Reader on preview.