<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="https://www.infopathdev.com:443/utility/FeedStylesheets/rss.xsl" media="screen"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/" xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"><channel><title>Newbie Questions</title><link>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/39.aspx</link><description>New to InfoPath? Search to see if your question has already been answered. If it has not, then ask it here or the appropriate topic forum.</description><dc:language>en</dc:language><generator>CommunityServer 2007 SP3 (Build: 31118.962)</generator><item><title>Re: Saved File vs. Published File - What's the difference?</title><link>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/thread/85333.aspx</link><pubDate>Fri, 14 Dec 2012 21:30:14 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">033a2e2d-04e2-4a9d-be01-a4634161eefd:85333</guid><dc:creator>ErnestoM</dc:creator><slash:comments>0</slash:comments><comments>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/thread/85333.aspx</comments><wfw:commentRss>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/commentrss.aspx?SectionID=39&amp;PostID=85333</wfw:commentRss><description>&lt;p&gt;It&amp;#39;s just separation of duty. The Published form is the form that a user will be filling out, so in theory it exists in some shared location, network location, SharePoint, etc.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;The saved form is going to be useful for the form designer, to make changes and republish.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;You could delete the saved form, but it&amp;#39;s never a bad idea to have the XSN backed up. I tend to keep various versions of my forms, on a local folder, in case I ever notice a problem and need to roll back.&lt;/p&gt;</description></item><item><title>Saved File vs. Published File - What's the difference?</title><link>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/thread/85332.aspx</link><pubDate>Fri, 14 Dec 2012 20:25:43 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">033a2e2d-04e2-4a9d-be01-a4634161eefd:85332</guid><dc:creator>prodad</dc:creator><slash:comments>0</slash:comments><comments>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/thread/85332.aspx</comments><wfw:commentRss>https://www.infopathdev.com:443/forums/commentrss.aspx?SectionID=39&amp;PostID=85332</wfw:commentRss><description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;Brand new to infopath and not an IT person. I am using infopath 2010 to build forms which I will publish then deploy to an iPad using Formotus. Submissions from the device will send them to a Sharepoint library. Got all that working okay so far.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;When I create my form I have to save it, which I&amp;#39;m doing to a shared drive. Then when I publish it, I&amp;#39;m putting it in the same folder where I save it, but with a filename suffix like &amp;quot;pub&amp;quot;.&amp;nbsp; I saw on here somewhere that the published file has some things wrapped up in it and the saved file is more &amp;quot;raw&amp;quot; or something to that effect. But what is the difference? It appears I can open my published file in Infopath designer and edit away like usual. So why do I need to keep the original saved version? Can I just delete it then and keep publishing (and saving) back to the same file?&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;Thanks in advance for any help. &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description></item></channel></rss>