Not exactly, but if an admin "removes" the corresponding version of the workflow associated with the item, it might cause the "thread" to "disappear", even though the item/document will remain.
If you have a more recent version of same workflow, it will not "take over" the action of the old one. It will activate on a document change though, if set so.