Deleting DBXL forms - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Deleting DBXL forms

Last post 11-15-2010 09:21 AM by Jim Cantwell. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-15-2010 08:05 AM

    Deleting DBXL forms

    Hi,

    Just discovered that when I deleted my submited forms in DBXL, the inserted database rows are rolled-back. ie, the rows created by my form submission where deleted.

    Is this an expected behaviour of DBXL? Quite bad if someone accidentally does a select all, delete...

     

  • 11-15-2010 08:34 AM In reply to

    This is the expected and intended behavior of DBXL.  When a document is deleted, the corresponding SQL data is deleted, so that the SQL data reflects the data in all current forms.  If there is some concern that someone might delete all of your documents, I suggest making sure that the appropriate permissions are applied to your document types.

    Jimmy Rishe / Software Developer / Microsoft MVP
    Qdabra Software
  • 11-15-2010 09:21 AM In reply to

    In addition to setting permissions appropriately, a good backup plan with transaction logs is key to recovery from user error, malicious action or hardware failure.   The QdabraDBXL and QdabraUtilities (QdabraSamples in v2.3) should be backed up regularly, and depending on the frequency of updates, transaction log backups at frequent intervals (e.g. 15 minutes).  That way your data loss is limited to the interval of your transaction log backups. 

    The sql tables you are shredding to are recoverable by restoring the xml form content from backups and then reshredding your document type. 

    You can also implement auditting on tables where you need to provide further activity tracking.

     

Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Copyright © 2003-2019 Qdabra Software. All rights reserved.
View our Terms of Use.