Hi paulmc,
This is the default behavior for repeating tables. You can change it by right-clicking on your repeating table, select Repeating Table Properties. In the Data tab, under Default Settings, uncheck "Allow users to insert and delete rows. That will also automatically remove the insert button and hint text. Apply that, preview, and users will not be able to insert rows.