InfoPath Froms to work with spreadsheet, Different user permissions and updates require approvals. - InfoPath Dev
in

InfoPath Dev

Use our Google Custom Search for best site search results.

InfoPath Froms to work with spreadsheet, Different user permissions and updates require approvals.

Last post 06-22-2018 11:13 AM by Wheels. 1 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-19-2018 02:33 AM

InfoPath Froms to work with spreadsheet, Different user permissions and updates require approvals.

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to InfoPath but I have spent yesterday and today investigating its potential applications and I believe that when coupled with SharePoint it would be a potential solution to a project I have been working on.

I want to develop a “people management system” that will hold several columns containing basic data on employees and what task code they have been assigned etc.

It will allow a manager to view all data, update or delete rows and permit them to create new rows.

It will allow team leaders to view only the people who have been assigned to their tasks and edit a certain column. When they edit this column a manager must be able view who made this update request and be able to approve it before it goes live. (There is roughly 60 updates a day so I know the email alert system I have read about is not workable)

The system must be entirely on SharePoint instead of being accessed locally.

I believe from my research yesterday and today that it will possible to use permissions and workflows in InfoPath forms and SharePoint in order to achieve this. InfoPath has the added benefit of allowing the user to edit a single column instead of the entire row.